andrepcg

Chernarus Height Map

Since I started playing DayZ, I wanted learn the terrain, the best spots to snipe and camp. Now we have dozens of online maps to choose and thei have contour lines but it's difficult to read directly from it, you have to follow the lines to see if the terrain is at the same height.

So my challenge is to create an online map with an height map of Chernarus with a color pallete representing the terrain height. Anyone could open the map and in 5 seconds look for the terrain changes.

So far I've got this map and it's obviously not perfect http://imgur.com/6sZAd

Then I wanted to create an API for retrieving terrain height giving a point (x, y). I would use an existing online map such as http://dayzdb.com/map and edit it to include the z coordinate in the lower bar (the bar with x y coordinates)

I've extracted Chernarus terrain data from pbo files and now I have a file with x y z coordinates for the entire Chernarus. You can download it here http://www.mirrorupl...ernarus_xyz.rar

XYZ File contents (http://www.mirrorupload.net/file/1KNFEC3R/chernarus_xyz.rar):

Each line contains height information for the terrain at a given X and Y coordinate.

2048x2048 points across 15360m X and Y. First point starts at X=0 Y=0 Z=-51.600, second one is X=7,5 Y=0 Z=-51.660 and so on (the Z coordinate is the variable, X and Y always increment by 1, obviously). The distance between each point in a vertical or horizontal line is 7,5 meters (10,60m diagonally), so 2048 points x 7,5m = 15360m = 15,36km for the X and Y coordinate.

X=0 Y=0 represents the bottom left corner, x=2048 Y=2048 represents the top right

How I did it: