11tw

Poisons (and various herbology)

I am not an expert botanist, and so some research would be have to done into this obviously. However I am aware that stewing deadly nightshade (AKA belladonna) and boiling it down makes quite a potent poison. This could be used for hunting (as it can take hours to kill a deer with a bow in real life).

Also, herbs tend to be good for you (as far as I'm aware). Maybe we could add herbs to the insides of bandages to help fight infection (again I am not sure which herbs. Maybe a book could spawn which teaches the player which ones are good for bandages). I do know that certain herbs have proven medicinal properties, and this could add some depth to the medical system, giving you an option other than the drug-based medicine (which would obviously still be more effective, because drugs are REALLY good for you).

Edited by 11tw

You'd be surprized what you can make poison from.  You know Ricen?  The plant it's made from grows in thickets near my old high school.

You'd be surprized what you can make poison from.  You know Ricen?  The plant it's made from grows in thickets near my old high school.

my childhood home had tons of poison oak and deadly nightshade in the garden... still don't know how we all made it out alive.

herbology aka herbalism or herbal medicine. Not to be confused with magic.

just make poison from the green berries and put it on the primitive arrows B)

I'd like to see poison in the game.

You'd need tools to grind it, and mechanisms to cook it down (which already exist in the game). I imagine it could be stored in glass bottles (which already exist in the game).

There's plenty of poisonous plants out there, but in a jiffy, even poop could work, or a rotting corpse.

For plants I'd like to see:

(These plants are found in Europe, thus fit in the lore)

Deadly Nightshade

Hellebore

Aconitum (Monkshood aka wolf's bane)

And also perhaps harvested from vipers?