Sign in to follow this  
Mr Jizz

What is Persistent Loot going to look like?

I wanted to open a discussion, and hopefully enlist the opinions and knowledge of people familiar with the architecture of the game.  I'm not a programmer, and I'm not going to pretend to be.  I have nothing but respect for people that do, and I'm anxious to hear some different perspectives. But please be kind, I'm acknowledging my lack of experience to avoid cheap shots for something I just don't know enough about. What I DON'T want this to turn into is a flame-debate about one person's opinion over another, or anything regarding the virtues of one style of play over another.  Loot will obviously be a game changer, but I'm not interested in whether or not persistent loot will have an impact on banditry, or KoSing, or whatever.. let's be objective fellas.

My biggest question is how this will operate with a public hive, specifically in regards to stated plans for a central loot system.  My understanding of persistent objects in a virtual world are that the items are saved specific to that server you're using.  So if you're playing Minecraft, for example, you build a house in a server that won't follow you to another server.  This includes any items you carry on your character.  Pretty obvious concept.  However, with DayZ's current form, we move from server to server and your character is the same.. same equipment, same everything.  This is really my question.. once persistent loot is introduced, will it spawn into a server that we join just as the equipment on our back? Furthermore, if I set up a tent in the Black Forest in Server A, and despawn in Berezino, then join Server B, will my tent appear in Server B at the same place in the Black Forest? 

224.png

• Like 1

Tents/Persistant storage will be server side only. (It was in the mod, anyway)

Character loot will be carried over from server to server.

It depends on hives and how they implement it.