Sign in to follow this  
bain

Tracking: the grass method

This isn't a new idea, I know, but upon searching previous threads I couldn't find anything discussing it at any length. I train wilderness survival in real life, which includes tracking. Let me say to start off, tracking is one of the most difficult skills to pick up in the survival realm. It requires a life time of practice to do it well and reliably. That said, any system in a video game is merely a representation of reality and doesn't always need to be perfect.

IN-GAME CONCEPT:

I'm not a coder or developer, so I have no idea what is reasonable or possible. So I'll begin with the concept and how I think it would benefit gameplay.

As it stands, our interactions with other players are limited to chance encounters and planned ambushes (that often is considered camping). There's very little intention behind it, it's going to be some random person we probably never met before. We see someone and we know if we lose sight of them it'll be a lot of guess work and luck to try and follow them. So we force interaction in the moment because if we pass it up it may be a long time before we see another player. That interaction may be shooting or talking, and both have their consequences.

But what if we could track them? I know that if I spotted someone in the distance I'd be very excited to run over to that spot and track them to their destination. Maybe I want to follow someone for awhile and see how they play before I talk. Maybe it's a group I'm tracking and I need to set up the perfect ambush to make sure things go my way. Or maybe I'm looting a dangerous airfield. Everything looks clear, but if I take the time to track around it maybe I'll find tracks left behind by a group of bandits. Maybe that military jail with a closed door is not untouched, considering the track in front of it.