Sign in to follow this  
hiniberus

Ballistics damage?

Hey there guys!

Just a quick question, I'm trying to understand the way how DayZ's current gun damage works and how it'll (hopefully) be improved in the future. Now mind you, I'm a novice when it comes to guns, bullets and calibres but I've read up enough to understand a little bit to not feel like a total moron on this topic. 

Something I find very underwhelming are the pistols, primarily. Each and every time I've tried to use them the results were hardly as expected. I remember plugging someone with four shots of an FNX right in the back, the guy had a backpack, assault vest and shirt. Though the only thing that could've protected him would be the backpack's contents at best (I hid under the stairs of a com's tower a month ago or so after hearing the guy shoot someone just above me) and he just turns around and kills me. 

Primarily, I'm thinking that had it been anywhere as real as it should be, at least two of the shots would've done some serious damage (saw him bleeding /heard him shouting in pain character wise) but wouldn't that have killed him? 

Even more recently, I was in the small military base (forgot the name of the town it's connected to, but it's at the far-west side of the map near green mountain) and someone plugged me with 4 magnum shots (about 2 weeks ago) but I just bandaged myself up and tossed aside a ruined assault vest. I'm pretty sure that would murder just about anyone, the distance was about 30~ish meters I'd guess. 

While the rifles got a fair bit of attention in topics, people seem to brush off the accuracy/damage issues of the pistols. Personally, I'd love to just do away with rifles and keep a pistol only on me to give me more of that 'true survivor' feel or at most, have a Blaze Double rifle. Though I feel with the strength and accuracy issues with the pistols at the moment, I find it a bit saddening. 

What are your thoughts, forum?