Sign in to follow this  
sinnaman

How to discover/punish ghosting? (For server admins)

Hey guys,

as a server admin I've run into a few challenges, most of which have been possible to find solutions to online. However lately, an issue that has been in the back of my head for a while has proved difficult to find the answer to.

The implementation of timeouts for server hopping is great and all, but in prolonged firefights (ones lasting from 10-15 minutes to an hour) ghosting is still a possibility and a nuisance. I know how to kick/ban people, but how to tell what player is guilty?

On highly populated servers people join and leave all the time, and keeping an eye on the player list alone won't give anyone an overview of who joined when and where. The server logs are difficult to read as well, and promising to ban any player caught ghosting seems moot when there is no way to know who the ghosting players are - there are no notifiers to tell a person who killed you, and "check pulse" will in most cases only give you "Unknown identity has no pulse.." instead of an actual nickname.

Is there a way to read the server logs to see who just killed who, for example? Or are there any improvements in the works to tell;

1. Who killed me?
  2. Who did I just kill?

I feel this is a very important issue for anyone running a server (which, for the record, is an expensive affair), trying to prevent and ban ghosting/cheating.

Any feedback would be highly appreciated.

• Like 1

Is there a way to read the server logs to see who just killed who, for example? Or are there any improvements in the works to tell;

1. Who killed me?
  2. Who did I just kill?

I feel this is a very important issue for anyone running a server (which, for the record, is an expensive affair), trying to prevent and ban ghosting/cheating.

That won't prevent exploiting, it would rather lead to a point where serveradmins will abuse it and the reason it won't happen.

• Like 2