Starbridge

Perks/skills/professions/stats

So I have been trying out all the new zombie survival games lately and each one has elements that I like and dont like.

What I find lacking in DayZ is the the lack of personal customization for your character.  

Let me start of with Professions.

Everyone has one.  Some people are better at things that other.  For example, running.  The running that my character does in the game would physically kill me due to a heart problem that I have, but on the bright sight I do electronics for a living.  I could make flashlights, radios, broadcasting equipment and I also worked in a hardware store for a long time so when it comes to thinking out side the box I can use a bunch of broken crap and fabricate some really neat stuff.  Guns, I know safety but could I really speed load a gun if I had to... I am going to go with no.  A friend of mine that was in Afghanistan as a troop would on the other hand be able to handle his weapons with ease and have the running endurance for long runs.

To make the game a truly life like experience you would have to add in some kind of skill/perk system, profession and stat system.

If you would to put me and my friend side by side with the same gear (lets go with a full combat set) I wouldnt be jogging anywhere, I would be dragging my gun down the road while he would be jogging and I am going to guess without even breaking a sweat.  However, you put me in a hardware store I could make you some weapons that would be awesome.  A little bit of ABS pipe, some fittings, an air compessor and some paper towels and nails and screws.  Meg-shift shotgun, ta da!  Not sure what he would make but man I could just go to town in a hardware store.  Throws us both in the wilderness and I think we would be on part with each other.  He would have the upper hand on hunting and being mobile, but I was a boy scout when I was younger and I could navigate myself to a town or to water if I needed to.